blog :: Polaris Prize :: 2014 short list

2014PolarisShortListOn September 22, the 2014 Polaris Music Prize will be awarded to an amazing Canadian artist. And today, the 40-strong long list was whittled down to 10 deserving artists.

Last year’s prize, which comes with a $30,000 award, went to Godspeed You! Black Emperor. But even the other nine short-listers have reason to celebrate: every artist who makes it to the top ten gets $2,000.

But, no one wants to win runner up. This year’s short list is a group of strong contenders.

Arcade Fire (obviously) made the short list with Reflektor. They were the obvious choice: the album gained a good deal of attention, with Sarah saying the band out-did themselves with this latest release.

Drake’s Nothing was the Same, which Erwin called a look into the Toronto rapper’s world, also made the cut, as did Jessy Lanza’s debut Pull My Hair Back; Kyla said that album surpassed her expectations.

Kyla was also drawn to Mac DeMarco’s beautifully lethargic Salad Days.

Basia Bulat’s Tall Tall Shadow, Owen Pallett’s In Conflict, Shad’s Flying Colours, and Tanya Tagaq’s Animism also made the cut. Timber Timbre’s Hot Dreams and YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN’s UZU round out the ten-album short list.


Who do you think will take the top prize? Let’s chat!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

AlphaOmega Captcha Classica  –  Enter Security Code