News Levels

News Level: Olympic

The best girl-group ever (the Spice Girls, duh) are slated to perform at the closing ceremony of the current Olympics (on an unrelated note – GO CANADA!). There are reports that Victoria Beckham doesn’t want to perform, and other reports that she has already dropped out of the act.

I hope she doesn’t, because I couldn’t be more excited to see the leaders of the ’90s girl power movement together again.

If you don’t remember how phenomenal the Spice Girls were, watch the video below. If you don’t think the Spice Girls are awesome, you’re either too young to remember (not your fault), or you’re wrong.


News Level: Award Shows

The fine folks over at MTV have announced the nominees for the MTV Video Music Awards. You can check out the nominees and vote for your favs here (I’ve already placed my vote!)

Canada has a lovely representation at the VMAs this year (yessss), which makes me more excited than usual.

Now, usually, we at Raz Mataz like to do a Staff Picks piece, but now we want you to pick too. Think long and hard while we set up our special MTV VMA polling station, then let us know who you want to take home the prestigious Moon Man.


News Level: Music Releases

So much new music news – I lurve it!

First, Alanis Morsette will release Havoc and Bright Lights (her seventh studio album) on August 27. Her first single, ‘Guardian’ (watch the video below), will be available for purchase on August 26. The track listing for the new record is also below.


Havoc and Bright Lights:

1) Guardian

2) Woman Down

3) ‘Til You

4) Celebrity

5) Empathy

6) Lens

7) Spiral

8) Numb

9) Havoc

10) Win and Win

11) Receive

12) Edge of Evolution


Bob Dylan also released the titles of the ten tracks off of his latest record, Tempest. ‘Roll On John’ is supposedly about John Lennon, while another song is apparently a 14-minute ode to the Titanic. Check out the track listing below:


1. Duquesne Whistle

2. Soon After Midnight

3. Narrow Way

4. Long and Wasted Years

5. Pay In Blood

6. Scarlet Town

7. Early Roman Kings

8. Tin Angel

9. Tempest

10. Roll On John


The deluxe edition of the album is slated for release on September 7 in Australia, and will feature a full-colour bound notebook with reproductions of over 30 vintage magazine covers of Dylan from the first ten years of his career.The record will also be available as a standard CD and double vinyl.

Lastly, Animal Collective released the first single off of their new album, Centipede Hz which drops on August 31. You can watch the video for ‘Today’s Supernatural’ below. Then, you can tell us what you think of it, just below that.


Until next time, darlings – enjoy the summer!

~ Olivia

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

AlphaOmega Captcha Classica  –  Enter Security Code